The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA) protects individuals who are 40 years of age or older from employment discrimination based on age. The ADEA�s protections apply to both employees and job applicants. Under the ADEA, it is unlawful to discriminate against a person because of his/her age with respect to any term, condition, or privilege of employment, including hiring, firing, promotion, layoff, compensation, benefits, job assignments, and training. The ADEA permits employers to favor older workers based on age even when doing so adversely affects a younger worker who is 40 or older.”

Just wanted to remind everyone what the LAW is, even tho not many employers pay attention to it.

So I moved to Georgia in November 2012. I didnt look for work until January 2013, and was immediately hired as an associate at a Childrens backyard Swingset Chain at 10 dollars an hour. I was hired because for the last 7 years in New York i was a manager for a competitor making 50,000+ per year. The Manager was 10 years younger than me and had been with the company for a long time. the assistant manager had the intellect of a Georgia peach and was 23 years old and awfully cute with puppy dog eyes , especially when higher management came calling. It was a dead end for me and eventually after 3 months me and the Georgia Peach had some harsh words and I walked out.

Since then I have started my own Home-based Video transfer and duplication business with the help ofa friend who has made me part of his business and website and has held my hand along the way. i am about to enter my 3rd full year and its still not quite sustainable. it has its moments and each year gets better , but its been a slow slow process.

In june of 2014, I applied for a part time job at a used book, video game and record store…..Its a cool atmosphere, Im getting to be around alot of old vinyl and books and guitars……But it doesnt pay very well….to be honest it doesnt pay much more than minimum wage. Again…its just part time……and I do need time to putinto the video business.

except for a few short months where I thought these 2 endeavors, plus my wifes full time job, would be enough to keep us comfortable….i had and am applying to full time jobs , every day, for almost 2 years. I have applied to probably 300 jobs that I am either completely qualified for, or if nothing else, over qualified. I have been doing this because my confidence in the video business shooting to fantastic heights(like my friends has) is lacking a bit. Of all the applications I have spent hundreds of hours filling out (mostly online) One application for a job can literally take 60-90 minutes because nowadays there is usually some sort of personality or assessment test that goes with it……..I have had 2 interviews. One was for selling cars, where it said no experience necessary……but they didnt offer me the job after what i objectively considered a great interview. The other was for an event manager for a one room catering facility, where i had 12 years in the wedding industry and the first person that interviewed me was ecstatic about that, what a fine candidate I was….and she couldnt wait for the owner to come in and talk to me….which he did in short order….went home and never got a phone call or obviously the job. Hmmm…what could have been the objection……The manager of the facility thought I was perfect.Could it have been that AARP thing that I am obviously a part of?

Of the almost 300 jobs I have applied for , these were the only 2 interviews I got. well, you say…..How could they know your age . they are not allowed by law to ask you your age. And yet , theyve all gotten around asking that question directly by asking you one or both of these questions.   1) Please tell us what high school you attended and what year did you graduate??   or 2) what college did you attend , if any and what years did you attend there?   Hmmmmmmmmm       hmmmmmmmmm I say again!!!!!

Over the last 25 years , i have mostly been a retail manager. In several industries. I managed aN Eckerd Pharmacy for 5 years, I managed the swingset place for 7 years. i managed Blockbuster video in its prime for almost 4 years.   And i cant even get a phone call or an interview for a retail managers job, an assistant retail managers job, a retail department mangers job……..NOT EVEN and Interview!!!     I have gotten a hundred rejection emails……I got one 2 weeks ago an hour after I applied for the job, saying “after careful consideration, we have decided not to pursue you any further for a position with us”    HUH????    WTF?!

I have all the experience

I have been successful at every one of my jobs

I have great references

so , altho I am continuing to send out resumes, because people keep telling me , I just have to catch the right person on the right day for the right job…………I am pretty pissed, and frustrated and a little self-pitying(word?)

I feel better health-wise than I have in a long time, I quit smoking….one year ago today(thank you very much!!)   Ive lost alot of weight, im eating better, Ive got a ton of enthusiasm, lots of energy……of course none of these prospective employers would know that…..because they dont want to even meet me on an interview.    My age tells them enough apparently, all they need to know.

Ill give you a partial list of Companies, Im pretty sure are breaking the laws of age discrimination:

Dicks sporting goods, who have rejected me twice in one year for 2 different positions

CarMaxx, who rejected me…..then i wrote a nasty email accusing them of age discrimination, then they emailed me and told me they made a horrible mistake, they DID want to interview me…..and they will….but first could I write them another email saying I didnt mean to accuse them of age discrimination…..whioch i did and then 2 minutes later I emailed them again and said Fuck you….i dont want to work for you!

Macys

Target

Barnes and Noble

Rite Aid

Walgreens

Many , Many smaller companies that are too long to type…..but trust me.

I can probably go to wal-mart or mY local grocery store and get a full time job stocking shelves for 9 bucks an hour….but remember a full time job is probably going to mean giving up the video business for the most part……and I cant live on 360 dollars a week.

Because despite what people think……”Lets move to North carolina or georgia….the cost of living is so much cheaper than new York”

Not so much……Because people forget to take ceratin things into consideration:

yes….Housing is cheaper down south….whether you rent (like we are doing right now) or buy. And thats about where it ends. We take our 2 car payments with us from NY…so that bill is the same, student loans we pay off for our kids, that doesnt change, credit card debt, thats still the same too. our verizon bill…exactly the same….Shopping for food down here….is as if not more expensive than NY. Shopping for anything is just as expensive . Clothes are the same price , jewelry is the same price, fast food is the same price, restaurants are the same price…….and guess what…….Youre only making half the money that you made in NY!!!!     yeah…Gas is about 20-40% cheaper at any given time ….but after everything else I just told you….So F’ing what!

But Im digressing a little bit….and here I go again…..apologizing to gloria , for not being positive…….but despite what Ive been ranting about ….Hey! im positive, im staying positive…….I have to stay positive…..Cause im not gonna roll up into a ball and give up!!

But friends ….if you work for one of these companies that are discriminating……and youre in a position to do something about it…..Please make a difference AND DO IT!!!

Because getting older sucks bad enough…..but we’re not invisible, we still have alot to offer……and we’re not going down without a fight   We are still part of Mankind

Mankind — that word should have new meaning for all of us today.

We can’t be consumed by our petty differences anymore.

We will be united in our common interests.

We’re fighting for our right to live, to exist.

“We will not go quietly into the night!

We will not vanish without a fight!

We’re going to live on!

We’re going to survive!”

Today, we celebrate our Independence Day!

